Watch the pennies and the dollars will take care of themselves

How bad are things at the Times? According to this piece in the New York Observer, the Metro Desk will no longer subsidize newspaper and magazine subscriptions (for the most part). The staffers are now on the hook for their own reading materials.

I had one subscrition at my office to a bi-monthly specialty publication. I think it was $35 a year. I no longer subscribe, but I think that was more due to a falling out with that magazine over a difference of opinion regarding an attribution issue. Fortunately, I can get the information from other sources, but it’s more laborious.

1 Comment

  1. This reminds me of my first newspaper job, where the Executive Director of the newspaper (a former typing teacher turned Publsher’s mistress) decided that we were using too many notebooks.
    I tried to explain to her that using notebooks was a good (and necessary) thing, a sign that we were doing our work.
    I wanted to suggest that if the paper really wanted to save money, how about firing her and selling her company BMW 7-series.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • A reluctant welcome

    It’s no secret what’s going on the field of print journalism. It’s going into the crapper. I wonder if Mr. Internet realized this would happen when he invented the World Wide Web. Regardless, the situation is here and we’re stuck with it. The purpose of this blog is to blow off a little steam, and I invite my fellow ink-stained wretches to join in with their own tales of woe or triumph. Maybe this will turn into a nice little support network. Questions? Suggestions? E-mail me at worriedjournalist(at) gmail(dot)com.
  • Blog Stats

    • 715 hits